Trump is More Than Just the Man of the Hour

He’s the man of minute
He’s the man of every second

Like a trusted confidant, he’s always there when you need him. In my incredibly recent post about blogging, I talked about how many successful blogs seem episodic in nature. Because they are. And Trump is perfect for the little screen. He’s provided the basic framework of his personality. Events are then combined in slightly different ways to give you that quick vaccine of novelty against momentary boredom. “Please inject me with more novelty.” That’s the mindset. Poor impulse control from the entertainer begets poor impulse control from the audience.

Well, to be fair, that kind of problem was a pre-existing condition, but Trump amplified it to a degree. Now we watch and wait, only to pontificate.

Bannon was the shadow president burning everyone’s lips. Now it’s Kushner sliding into the role of puppeteer. James Comey was sacked, but he’s the quiet martyr that lives on. Essentially short-lived names embroiled in controversy.

Boy. I wonder what the series finale will be like.

3 Comments

  1. WELCOME! Ladieeees and Gentlemen….to the latest installment of (drum roll please)

    SHORT ATTENTION SPAN THEATRE

    Yeah, that whole poor impulse control thing? Its short attention span theatre! That is the pre-existing condition, one that has plagued us for some time now. It’s little surprise really in a culture that values fame without accomplishment as currency. In the age of “reality” television (there is an oxymoron if ever there was one) it is only fitting, isn’t it, that a man who became a familiar face to the country through his role on a “reality” program should now sit in the oval office. It was destiny.

    You and I have touched upon this subject briefly in prior exchanges so I understand your sentiments where Trump is concerned. While at first blush I may not be inclined to share those sympathies I will qualify everything that follows by saying that I am NOT a Trump apologist. It is apparent to me through both your topical writing and your more abstract poetry that you are a highly intelligent and well reasoned individual. Juxtaposed against this conclusion I am left with a rather serious question about your, as you have put it, adamant opposition to Trump. And that question is this: is your opposition merely rooted in a desire to swim with the prevailing tide, or do you have well reasoned objections upon which to have a solid footing for that opposition?

    Don’t misunderstand, it is not my intention to spar with you over your position. As I have said before I certainly do not have to agree with you on everything to appreciate your work. As you are an intelligent individual, clearly able to express your thoughts in a cogent fashion, I would very much like to hear your thoughts which lead you to your position regarding Trump.

    I could probably best explain my position on this subject in this way. Like most Americans I think that I find myself every four years left with not a choice to vote for something, rather to vote against the alternative. As far as my personal impressions of Trump go I will agree with many that he is often buffoonish, unfocused and prone to saying things that will make me cringe. He strikes me as a personality type that I would not likely become friends with or enjoy working with. He is a poster child for adult ADD. I freely admit all of these impressions, but having said all of that I can not agree with the steadily chanted mantra that he is somehow unsuited to the office or dangerous in any way. I consider the sources of this hyperbolic narrative and feel quite confident in rejecting their assertions. It is not out of any great love of or loyalty to Trump. It is rooted firmly in my deep distrust of these sources. Trump would certainly not have been my first choice for our President, yet I am sure that we could do far worse.

    On many questions of policy I am quite comfortable with the stated positions. Reducing regulations, shrinking the size of government, bolstering defense and turning over it’s conduct to professionals who know what they are doing, securing the borders, enforcing accountability in the VA and a rejection of all of the PC nonsense, all of these are good things in my own opinion. Most of these positions that I support are for no other reason than they are duties which are in fact constitutionally proscribed as the proper role of our federal government. I am not a democrat or a republican; I am a libertarian. The Jeffersonian theory, that which governs least governs best, is my creed. The typical republican playbook is to simply play defense against the more ambitious statist agenda advocated by the democrats. All that equates to is a shit sandwich with the stench removed: it may not smell as bad but it is still a shit sandwich.

    The size and scope of the federal government has for far too long spilled well outside of it’s constitutional bounds. Playing defense to merely slow it’s expansion is not the medicine this patient needs. If we mean to save this republic then the de-construction of the federal government needs to begin and frankly needs to begin yesterday. I do not have confidence that Trump will take all of the steps needed, but I am at least heartened by the apparent move in the right direction. Its a big mess and one has to start somewhere.

    Trump may very well say a lot of stupid things. He is not disciplined in his messaging and I wouldn’t dispute that for one second. As President, however, it is nowhere near as important what the holder of the office says than what the holder of the office does. We have had too many in the office who have been very good at saying things that sound great, but doing things that are stupid. Given a choice between the two I’d prefer the prior.

    I and many of my countrymen are thoroughly fed up with an elitist and vain establishment that has populated our institutions. They have for years, on a daily basis, unzipped their collective trousers, whipped out their junk and pissed on all of us while swearing to the heavens that it is only raining. The electoral message resounding again and again is that we reject their so-called wisdom. Trump may not be professional in the political sense, but look around you my friend. Look where the professionals have brought us.

    Like

    1. Well, there’s a view espoused by many of his supporters that i don’t agree with. That unfamiliar corruption is preferable to familiar corruption. I can’t say I agree.

      It seems clear to me that he has abundant conflicts of interest, while also stoking xenophobia and in general hyper-aggression. I find I can’t agree with his rampant anti-immigration policies.

      I find that he has a “cult of personality” about him. That reason is inferior to personality or high emotional expression. He doesn’t seem to value facts or appealing to credible sources. I’m not sure that a vacuum of narcissism is preferable to system that is corrupt in a different but arguably significantly better way.

      But not all of his supporters are created equally. He has attracted white supremacists but also those that innocently wanted change (they seem to be in the minority though). I feel like he did represent the prevailing political winds (and does). That his victory was based on unfounded fears, or at least the strategies to deal with those fears were drastically unfounded.

      As for examples of how I disagree, impeaching Trump is not the best move strategically, simply because his replacement might be worse in some ways. I think some of his appointments have been frightening. Stephen “Steve” Bannon, Jeff Sessions, Scott Pruitt. It seems the fractured state of the white house is filled with the hyper-racist or the hyper-corporatism factions.

      That is how authoritarianism starts in my view. Conjuring up enemies that the common man can get behind. Such as “fake news.” He doesn’t reason out his aggressiveness. I am supposed to accept it.

      To be honest, I struggled writing this up. Political arguments seem futile much of the time. I believe in that source. You believe in that source.

      For instance, I could point out his flaws by appealing to sources and economic arguments all day long. Would that really change your views?

      To be clear, I don’t subscribe to many of the mainstream factions. I see Trump as a good 15-20% worse than the other candidates.
      But despite my opinion, he will leave a legacy though. The mere fact that he was elected serves to show that someone similar to him could be elected in the future.

      I think many of the typical liberal and conservative ideologies have many flaws, and that the same minds that voted for candidates of that ilk will transport that “structure” into Trump. That hysteria doesn’t change its structure when it focuses on a different individual. (For instance, the Obama turned Trump supporter).

      Anyway, those are my views vaguely put out there.

      Like

    2. Also, thanks for taking an interest in my views and my writing., and not taking offense. I find that politics is often a deal-breaker when it comes to liking your work (it even happens to jk rowling).

      Like

Leave a Reply

